National Association of Multicultural Rehabilitation Concerns, 2019 Annual Training Conference at the Hyatt Regency 265 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303.  July 17- July 20. Preconferences on July 17 CRCC Exam Preparation and Rehabilitation Grant Writing and Technical Assistance Workshop Presented by Langston University (RRTC) and July 18, preconference, Ethical Use of Motivational Interviewing to influence positive rehabilitation outcomes. General Conference Sessions July 18-20th.


February 24, 2019


Michell Temple, EdD, CRC, NCC, LPC (GA), LPC/MHSP (TN, Temp)


Robin Dock, PhD, CRC, LPCS


Andre Washington, PhD, CRC

L’Tanya Fish, PhD, CRC, LPC


Adrienne Robinson, EdD, CRC

Courtney Ward – Sutton, PhD


The National Association of Multicultural Rehabilitation Concerns (NAMRC) is pleased to announce our 2019 national training conference, “Reimagining the Future: Moving Beyond Talk to Action” to be held between July 17 – 20, 2019 at the Hyatt Regency Atlanta, 265 Peachtree Street, NE, Atlanta, GA 30303, (404) 577-1234 .  NAMRC is currently inviting the submissions of proposals from rehabilitation practitioners, administrators, educators, students, researchers, and consumers. Please read through the following guidelines carefully in order to submit a proposal for a concurrent session, symposium (panel), or a poster.

Content Areas of Presentation

The committee seeks proposals which address the conference theme “ Reimagining the Future: Moving Beyond Talk to Action” .  This year’s theme includes a focus on skill building, evidence best practices, and “how to” sessions.  Proposals that involve new idea, device, method, program or innovative opportunities for people with disabilities from diverse backgrounds are strongly encouraged.  As the rehabilitation counseling field evolves, we must ensure that multicultural issues in rehabilitation remain a priority despite the ever-changing socio-political climate of the nation.  Submissions should represent innovative topics with a multicultural rehabilitation focus:

  • Academia, Diversity and Rehabilitation Counseling Programs (recruitment, retention)

  • Achieving Professional Excellence in Rehabilitation Research, Leadership and Practice

  • Assistive Technology

  • Emerging Treatment in 2019 for Mental Health Services

  • Ethical Practices & Social Media for New Millenniums

  • Evidence Based Practice in Peer Reviewed Articles

  • Forensic Rehabilitation (life care planning, earning capacity)

  • “How to” Sessions - Application – Skill-building

  • Human Resource Practices, Diversity in the Workplace and Workplace Support for People with Disabilities

  • Independent Living Services (part-time employment, aging, leisure & recreation, retirement)

  • Innovative Research in Rehabilitation

  • Job development, Innovations in Technology, & Employment Issues

  • Neuro - Developmental Disorders

  • Planning for the Future:  CORE/CACREP

  • Private Rehabilitation - Entrepreneurship Best Practices

  • Self – Care for the Practitioner within the Rehabilitation Counseling Profession

  • Sports Medicine and Injury

  • Substance Use and Behavioral Addictions (opium epidemic)

  • Trauma Informed Care

About Us:

National Association of Multicultural Rehabilitation Concerns

Our History

When the “Council” was formed in 1969 as a voice within NRA, the National Association of Non-White Rehabilitation Workers (NANWRW) was formed as a separate non for profit association independent of NRA. NANWRW, was an advocate for issues and programs that were of concern to non white members and non white persons with disabilities. The “Council” and NANWRW advocated both inside and outside of NRA and were effective in increasing the representation of non white persons in the rehabilitation community.

The impact of the “Council” and its leaders may be seen in increased participation of non-whites in the RSA & NIDRR peer review process, advocacy for establishment of Section 21 of the Rehabilitation Act, and the establishment of an R & T Center at Historically Black Colleges and Universities. Prior to the establishment of the National Association of Multicultural Rehabilitation Concerns (NAMRC), the “Council” also hosted luncheons, receptions and separate training at the annual NRA conference for its members. NANWRW representation on CORE was subsequently given to NAMRC through a special partnership.

Today, NAMRC has representation on the Commission on Rehabilitation Counseling Certification, CORE Commission on Standards and Accreditation for Undergraduates, and CORE Commission on Standards and Accreditation for Graduates. NAMRC also took a leadership role in the formation of the NCRE Council on Diversity and Equity, and has been an active partner in inter-organizational planning groups such as the CORE Summit and Rehabilitation Mega Conference and other organizations essential to the profession of rehabilitation.

Board Members


Valyncia Wilson, MS, CRC, LP 


Michell Temple, EdD

President Elect

Robin Washington, PhD, PT, CRC

                    Immediate Past President 

Keisha Rogers, PhD, CRC, LCAS, LPC



Felicia Hunter


Alexis Duggan

Student Representative

         Deanna Henderson, PhD, LPC, NCC, CRC   

            Representative to the NRA Board 

  Robin Dock, PhD, LPC, LPCS, ACS, CRC  

 Board Member

 Rachita Sharma, PhD, CRC, LPC-S  

Board member 

  Hattie McCarter, MRC

Board member at Large

  Katavia Sloan, CRC, LPC

Board member at Large

Dennis Bunton, PhD, NCC, LPC  

Board Member

  L’Tanya Fish  

Board Member

Andre Washington,  PhD , CRC

Board member at Larg

 Christiaan Kier, PhD Candidate, CRC  

Board member at Large


 Division Representative 

DeAnna Henderson